Stars – Grace Potter and The Nocturnals

Today the sun is duller

The laughs less jovial

The heart uneasy

The spirit dampened

All because of you

Today doesn’t mark a particular anniversary but I can’t stop thinking about you and how different our lives would be if you were still here with us. I can’t help but to miss your booming laughter and how it could bring a smile to the grumpiest of men. I can’t help but miss your tough love and practical advice for my not-so-practical heart. I can’t help but miss your optimism toward life’s constant trials and tribulations.

I still miss everything about you. Everything. Most days, I know you’re with me. Both in my head and in my heart. But today, more than any, I wish you were still right beside me. The stars won’t be as bright today. But, I know you’re always shining down on me.

I love you

I can’t look at the stars
They make me wonder where you are
Stars, up on heaven’s boulevard
And if I know you at all, I know you’ve gone too far
So I, I can’t look at the stars.

All those times we looked up at the sky
Looking out so far, it felt like we could fly
And now I’m all alone in the dark of night
And the moon is shining, but I can’t see the light.

 

Leave a Reply

